Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No progress.

Almost nothing happened today. NO builders appeared. NO window painter to unstick the newly painted window. BUT all the bathroom stuff was delivered and stacked in the spare room (just as well my exercise bike had been shoved away in a cupboard to make more room).

Our builder did ring, after I had texted him to ask if anyone was gracing us with their company (didn’t say it like that). I think that the chap yesterday was supposed to have told me he wouldn’t be in, but probably couldn’t bear to see my little whingey face when he told me. Andrew (the builder) is STILL trying to get the council building inspector to come and check the beams. He's been trying for ages, but never gets a reply, and can never speak to him. The photos he emailed were 'blocked'. He's going frantic. I suggested that I ring the chap, so I left a rather terse, convoluted message on his answerphone. So that probably added another week or so on to the process...

In desperation, I rang the surveyor. Turns out, he knows this elusive council chap, and has dealt with him before, so offered to come and take photos, as he was over this side of town anyway!! Bingo! He climbed ladders, took lots of photos, and assured me he'd do his best. Fingers crossed we can get on with it ASAP.

JR and Archie went a long dampish walk. I relaxed on the sofa, in case the window painter did appear. The only exercise I’ve had for days has been walking to the doctor, then back and forth from the fridge. Must do better.

This tin of biscuits was brought by a friend a while ago - she knew I’d like it as it's a Combi Van. Wrong kind of dog though...

One year ago, Archie fell through the ice into the duck pond!

Derry Girls are back. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.