Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Aquafit!

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I got up and took Archie round the block. JR doesn’t have a fitness session on a Thursday, and so hasn’t got a 9am deadline.

But I did have a 9am deadline today - Aquafit! So I took Archie round the block and then went for a bit of a swim before the class. Actually, it was quite fun, and it did feel that I used a few muscles, especially my arms when we used the dumbbell floats. The same faces were there as when I used to go, a couple of years ago, and they're STILL yakking away constantly and not really doing much. One woman had a Fitbit on to check her steps, and I asked what the count was - over 3,000!

It was such a nice day, we took Archie to Braidburn Valley Park, where we met and walked along with three very energetic dogs, two of them were huge (labradoodles, apparently). They were trained therapy dogs for autistic people. They were SO fast, but Archie didn’t join in any running around. Their owner was holding a treat away up high to get their attention, but Archie looks at the camera. Good boy.

JR and Archie walked home, but I’d had enough - my bus was just coming as I crossed the road and tried to 'run' (shuffle quickly, more like) to the bus stop, but I was very slow. An old lady came running past me and said, 'I'll catch it for both of us!' And she did. 

8,603 steps, but with the additional 3,000 morning steps, that could be why I’m stiff and sore and tired this afternoon.

I've just been told it's my 8th blipday! (I don’t always check my notifications...)  It always catches me out, though I should know it's near Archie's birthday. Many thanks to all who pop in, some of who have been popping in for all eight years. Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.