Calm Walk

Off to my local garden center today. Run by a family I always enjoy a chat with the old lady and her daughter. I went for seedling soil but a pink violet and a pot of croci ended up in my bag too! It was such a gorgeous day and the birds were singing so prettily I didn't want to go home. Walk on Kit Hill it was!
 It's quite a barren looking area on first sight, but the sparseness soon becomes a feast for the eyes and things stand out so much more. The only bird song I heard was a skylark - that was fine by me! Reminds me of walks on the Mendips with my parents. I sat on a bench to admire the view and just be. I remembered the 5 senses meditation and honed in on my environment. There was so  much to see! I could feel the solid bench beneath me, touch its roughness and the screw heads poking up, and could feel the wind against, and the sun upon my face. I could also hear the sound of the wind as it met my face and ears, the sounds of dogs and the clink of their tags on their collars. Also the conversation of their walkers. The yellow gorse had their pineapple cocktail like perfume amongst the freshness and acidic heath aroma of the area and I had the apple taste from my vaper! As I began my walk back I saw a sign on the gate about " swaling" that would be carried out - a controlled burning. 
On my walk back I went to check out the stone structure -  peering over the stones I could see it was a rather ornate capped open  mine shaft!
No idea how the folded and secured umbrella got in there!
On the way home I called in on the hens. As strong winds may be coming in at the weekend I decided to secure everything whilst it was fine weather - after I'd said hello to the girls and given them the swiss chard from my fellow allotmentor who was there!
What a very pleasing day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.