Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hooray for Wednesday

This is the first Wednesday I've been able to attempt the long walk for weeks and weeks.

I knew I should probably go on the intermediate walk, but I could not resist the temptation to be out with my regular walking friends. Today's walk started in Allendale before we climbed onto the moors with long views around and about.

We came to a gateway flanked by two birds. Both are made from metal spades. I was hoping to capture Roger looking at the bird, but he turned at the crucial moment and I have my blip.

We walked for 11.5 miles, sometimes in snow, but mainly on the moor tops. It was wonderful.

Part way around I started to have discomfort under one foot, as if a blister was developing. Ann kindly applied a Compeed plaster and sheep's wool. I was able to continue. I think it's just because I've not been walking and my feet are not tough enough.

After a hot bath and cooking the meal, I was ready to go to bed, but I've not done so yet. I think I may be stiff in the morning.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.