The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

OneStreet: shop plastic-free in Stroud

My OneStreet is Gloucester Street in Stroud. I started blipping it in 2012. Since then, Helen G fashions has closed, and Cappelli the barber's. The buildings were bought by my former landlady from long ago. She has been doing up the flats above and has opened a record store in one of the shops. Last year it was a festival-gear (not hard drugs) shop called Shanti. Now the other unit appears to be about to open as a plastic-free shop.

I wish the owners well, but Gloucester Street is mainly full of restaurants and takeaways. However, a florists, a hairdresser and a pet shop have survived there for years, as well as a vintage shop that's hardly ever open. It's not hardcore Stroud shopping territory. Too far from the markets, too close to the A46.

The blumenvan (mobile florists van from Holland of immense proportions) was parked up in the Street, too. I blipped the inside of it last week. Blumenvan is my made-up word for it.

In other news, I finished my end of term reports, and only took an extra hour of unpaid overtime! My cousin Fi and her daughter Zi came round, and we had a pie in the pub before watching our 1970s cine films. Fi is in some of them, as we all lived in Ireland for a while. These films are going to run and run...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.