Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Girls Are In Charge

There have been several female Costa's hummingbirds around lately.  They're not known for their flashy colors like most other hummers but I think they are beautiful in their simplicity. There were three drinking at two feeders at the same time.  I'm not sure I've ever seen hummers on different feeders in my yard simultaneously.  It's the start of migration season so I have three hanging.  (By May, there will be one.)

Mom wasn't feeling well this morning.  When I got to her house at noon she was still in bed and complaining of weakness.  The night before she called and told me how bad she was feeling and wanted to feel better like she had not long ago.  I pretty much know what the problem is when she gets like this:
1. lack of food
2. dehydration
3. failing to properly use her oxygen
So when I got to her house I scrambled three eggs, made some toast and put out orange juice and pedialyte (an electrolyte drink).  She ate and drank it all.  Less than an hour later she was almost "perky".  I'm going to get her back to drinking an Ensure and the electrolytes every day.  I'll also have to be more present at meal times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.