Abstract Thursday

A big thanks to Ingeborg for hosting AT, with todays' theme being an abstract macro. I liked this one, as I thought it resembled burlap; it's actually the end of a little leaf on the stalk of a weed. 
Big drama in our tiny city this past Tuesday. (I always tell people we live in Milwaukee because most people in the U.S. would have some idea of where that is, but we actually live in a very small city, about 2 1/2 miles in diameter, that's located in Milwaukee County, but South of the actual city of Milwaukee). Anyway, the mayor of our city was elected 4 1/2 years ago, & I'll just say I didn't vote for her, as I'd had personal encounters with her in the past which, in my mind, rendered her a poor choice for the job...but she won the election. Fast forward to the present, where after four years of trying to work with her, the common council voted unanimously to give her a vote of "no confidence", the Police Dept. has filed complaints against her, and 2 of our 3 aldermen/alderwomen quit. One of the citizens of our city--enraged after being told in an open meeting that if she didn't like the way things were going there were plenty of other cities she could move to-- gathered 1,200 signatures calling for a "recall election", siting multiple incidences of swearing, of belligerent, abusive behavior, etc., etc.  The mayor filed a protest against the recall election with the Wisconsin election board; the election board ruled against her, so the recall election was held this past Tuesday.....she was not re-elected. 
If I were not such a nice, humble person, I might say "I told you so", but I'll just leave it at: " thank goodness for the democratic process"! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.