Look into the light...

A very enjoyable day today at The Photography Show at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham.

I went with a very clear idea of the things I wanted to see and the stands I wanted to visit. It made for a very full day:  I was there waiting for the doors to open at 10am, and I was still talking to someone on one of the stands at 5pm when they announced that the show was closed. A useful and informative day - and I managed to get away with spending very little money!

It was also a great opportunity for a blipmeet, and it was a pleasure to meet up again with Graham Colling, NewburyJames, LooseCanon and Technophobe and to meet HelenJG for the first time.  I'm sorry I missed a couple of other blippers I know were also at the show.

My blip was snatched as I passed a stand on my way elsewhere.  I didn't even record whose stand it was!  I think the photographer was demonstrating how to photograph the model through the ring light.  There was also another light high up behind her head illuminating the top of her hair.  I've never been keen, though, on the circular highlights that ring lights produce in the eyes.

When I left home this morning there was a light dusting of snow everywhere (the weather seems to be swinging between extremes at the moment) and my first extra shows one of the railway station staff spreading salt on the edge of the platform.  There seemed to have been very little snow in Birmingham when I arrived, but during the day I spotted a lot of people looking out through the windows of the emergency exits at the NEC (my second extra): it was now snowing quite heavily.  There was certainly a significant covering by the time I returned home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.