Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

No clue

I went to the Columbia Museum of Art today to see an exhibit of Imogene Cunningham photos.    She was one of the very first female photographers in the US in the 1920s until 1970s.   Her most recognizable photos for me are her portrait of Frida Kahlo and her huge magnolia closeup.       The one thing that really stood out for me with her photos was the  quality of paper and the processing she used.   In one portrait the photo was so sharp ( but still grainy in black and white) so that the face of the woman looked so real as in I could see all the pores on her face as if she was standing next to me. I felt like I could touch her skin.     In our time of photoshopping and airbrushing this kind of photo does not happen.   I think we have lost a fine art that needs to be brought back.   I know that there are photographers who do darkroom work but I don't know if the process they use is what was done years ago...or if they can even get the same chemicals.    And why is the lighting in art museums always so crappy..shadows and other photos in every on of the photographs so that I could not get a clear view.   

Another exhibit at the museum was by Renee Cox..a strange three D type of art.   This photographer/artist takes photos of herself (or other people)...faces, legs, arms etc and then manipulates them in apps or whatever to replicate the photo..kind of like a kaleidoscope effect.  Then she prints these large and cuts out the parts she does not want.  It is very hard to describe this art.    I have put three photos in the extra that show what she does.    Very strange but very eyecatching.  She calls this  work "Soul Culture".    I can appreciate that she has the vision to do this and the skills but it is not something that I understand or like.   

While I was walking back to the car a different way I noticed this "chain" between two buildings.  Below it is a courtyard for the entrance to apartments that are above the shops along this area.    Another strange thing. Why?   

  Right after I snapped this photo,  a young man asked me for money.  I had to disappoint him.   The homeless shelter is just on the next block.    I sure am glad I don't go to the city that often.   

Met up with number 2 son and his wife for an early supper.  They are talking of sellling their condo and looking for a house but still way over on the other side of town.   They just love being close to the city which is good since they both work nearby.     They have a schedule of things to do and are getting all their ducks in a row.   DIL loves to be organized!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.