An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lola the lap dog!

My brain is fried.

It was Alan's team meeting today so all the team were here, our own support workers as well as the agency workers and the agency managers.  It's so difficult to get everyone together at the same time so we were really pleased that all bar one could make it.

It was a really positive meeting.  The purpose of it is just to give everyone a chance to chat about what's been happening, share experiences and ideas and update folks with what's going to be happening over the coming months.  It also gives us all the chance to brainstorm (are you still allowed to use that term these days?) ideas about what activities Alan might want to try and for any issues / concerns to be raised and explored in a supportive environment.

Afterwards Tracy the Speech and Language Therapist did an hour long training session on communication strategies to use with Alan to engage and motivate him, and most importantly, to allow him to express his thoughts and opinions.  

All in all a really interesting but tiring afternoon.

Lola was beside herself with excitement at all the visitors but poor thing ended up shut in the boot room for the duration of the meeting as she just couldn't settle with so many potential play mates in the  house!  

Once everyone had gone I had a mad half hour with her playing with her toys and giving her lots of scratches and tummy rubs.  When she calmed down she wanted up on my knee for a cuddle!  She does this every evening around 10.30pm and David lifts her up and she curls into a ball and cuddles in.  This evening she decided a 6pm cuddle suited her diary but before she could curl up, a bird in the garden caught her attention, leading to today's blip quickly grabbed by David on his phone!  It makes me laugh every time I look at it.  She's quite graceful when she moves but on my, she's a heavy lump when the bulk of her body weight is spread across my ankles! 

David's off out now for usual Tuesday night singing rehearsal and I'm left wondering what to make for my dinner.  Can never be bothered cooking for one so might make do with toast and banana.  I know how to live :-)))

PS Thank you for all your lovely comments on my blip of little Anna yesterday.  I have now sent her mum and dad the photos and they are really happy with them.  I'm pleased with how they turned out as it wasn't a proper photography session, just me snapping away as she did her thing.  She's very fast!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.