Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Mark Littlejohn - landscape photographer

I'm tired (self inflicted from the Photography Show) and a bit disgruntled this evening. I've written a fairly long commentary and then it disappeared.

In brief: to Hexham for Mum's haircut and for me to shop.

This afternoon, back to Hexham for the funeral of a friend. I have to say that the trend to have very long eulogies with great detail about the deceased, but never mentioning the slightest hint of feet of clay, irritates me. Who was this person I'm hearing about. Rant over. Perhaps it helps the family? When my Dad died, I was pleased to hear the minister talk loving of the real person, not the plaster saint. 

This evening, Mark Littlejohn came to talk at the Photo Club. He brought images of trees, ethereal, beautiful and to lose oneself in. He was delighted to finish bang on 9pm, but our speakers are usually asked to finish at 8.30pm so there had been a bit of shuffling before he stopped! Oh dear. I won't mention the difficulty we had understanding his Scottish accent either.

He was very generous with information about the settings he uses and how he approaches processing too.

I made a pig's ear of taking his portrait, dropping my lovely 85 mm lens in the process. It seems OK.

I've decided to have a day off tomorrow........ perhaps I should stay in bed!

Today is 70 years since my parents married. A life time ago. Happy memories. It was just after the war and clothing was on coupons. Mum wore her sister Ethel's dress and her sister in law's veil. I told her I didn't think that Dad would notice that they did not match! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.