Carpet of spring flowers, Penenden Heath

Susan went out with her mother to an appointment so I took the opportunity to go for a swim. Very good too, It felt like a well oiled sewing machine.

I’ve often noticed this carpet of spring flowers at Penenden Heath as I’ve passed by. Today I stopped to blip them.

The Heath has a long history stretching back to the Middle Ages. It’s been a meeting place for all sorts of groups and events including Wat Tyler and the Peasant Revolt. It was used for public executions until the 19thC, the last being a John Dyke, from our village of Bearsted who was hung in 1830 for setting fire to a hayrick. It was later established that he was innocent.

An electrician called around lunchtime to size up some work in the house, followed by the kitchen fitter to try and repair the leak from Friday. No success, a new joint is required.

Doreen came back for lunch and remained the rest of the day. We went for a walk in the pleasant afternoon sun. I had a bit of work to do while Susan cooked the tea. Time for a bit of practice for my performance at the Folk Club tomorrow night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.