Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

At the Mart

No time to recover from Julius Caesar last night. I started my day at the tip to drop off cardboard boxes before visiting the other Marjorie for coffee and chat. I love discussing things with her - she is a mine of information and is one of the deepest thinking people I know.

Then to Whispers for a hair cut. I think the shape is better this time.

Via Aldi to home for 10 minutes for a piece of toast. Mum had lots of news - we have a friend who was admitted to Cramlington as an emergency - so she had to tell me very quickly. Then it was off to Corbridge to the dentist. She has renewed a filling on one of my front teeth - well it's a little bit added on the bottom - and it looks great.

Then home. Mum has been going through an old box containing all sort of interesting papers about her and Dad in their younger days. There are references and applications, house purchases (£50 deposit on their first house that cost £450) and so on. Completely fascinating.

I had a quick rest before we were out to the Village Hall for The 39 Steps. Forget the wonderful film with Robert Donat, this was a rip roaring comedy, managed on our tiny stage. It was very funny and the cast did really well.

On my way out of Hexham today I noticed the machinery laid out at the Mart ready for a "Sale of Vehicles, Farm Machinery & Associated Tools, Equipment & Firewood". I saw these chairs from the road. I raced around the field looking for suitable images, and wishing I had worn wellies. It was a tad muddy!  The chairs suited me perfectly and I like the bareness and desolation of the field. A lot of the machinery was well rusted and I wonder who will buy it. Sad really.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.