Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Early lambs

Today was the recce for the walk "Above and Along the Nent Valley". I'm on the team led by Nick and also including Frank.

It was a most glorious day. The skies were very blue, there were drifts of snow on the tops, the lapwings were flying and starting to tumble, a curlew flew overhead, there was little wind and it was quite warm.

We had only 7.5 miles to do, so we thought we would finish quite early. We had not allowed for the permissive path that is no longer open, the new tracks made through the  Mounthooly woods, the damage to various paths and, finally, the part of Isaac's Tea Trail by the River Nent that has been washed away. That part of the walk was a scramble.

At Blagill Farm, we found the family looking after orphaned lambs in a shed. Here is Susie with one who is very keen to feed. She kindly allowed me to photograph her and I hope she likes the result.

I drove in ordinary shoes and arrived to find that I'd left the insoles for my boots at home. My feet are rather sore after tramping about 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.