Too whit..

We've had a city day today as the kids had meetings to attend at work so after breakfast at Lulu's Coffee Shop with Becks we walked into New Haven. First stop was the local museum and an hour or so's cramming on the origins of New Haven. I didn't realise the this was the location of the first trial of the Amistad survivors, African slaves who overpowered the crew of the vessel they were sailing on from Cuba and tried to return to Africa. That was a moving exhibit.

We then strolled onto the Yale University Campus and into the Quad at Old Yale where I sat on a bench to try and blip the skittish bluejays who were making quite a racket in the enormous tree above me. No wonder really, because I then spotted this huge owl high in the branches and he has to be my blip of the day, particularly as he seemed to be as curious about me as I was about him. I hope one of you bird expert blippers out there can tell me what he is. The perspective of the blip doesn't really give a clear impression of his size but he was a very long way up!

We had lunch at the Book Trader Coffee Shop and then walked the three or so miles back up Whitney to Beck and Rob's house, finishing the day with a cuppa at the Book store cafe where I wrote my postcards for itchythumbs, trevorearthy and NannaK!

Ps after extensive research I reckon he is a barred owl which is the most common owl in Connecticut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.