Blancmange/David Rhodes

I had an unusually torrid day, today. It started off all right but then ended up in a negotiating situation with me in the middle. Or so it felt. So even dinner in Manchester with the Minx, miniMinx, Charlie, and Hannah was punctuated by texts and phone calls. (I will stop here to say that as Deaf was full, we reluctantly went 'round the corner to eat at The Footage, where, it transpired, the food was excellent!)

After we'd eaten, the miniMinx and her chum went off to a gig at Academy while the Minx, Hannah, and I went to Band On The Wall to see Blancmange play. I must confess that despite doing my best, I was evidently still out of sorts, as we bought drinks and went into the gig room. We'd missed the support act, Jez Bernholz, whom I wanted to see but, guys, 7pm start?

We went into the auditorium at ten past eight, just as Blancmange were taking the stage. First on was the keyboard player and then... NO! Surely not! Oh my God: DAVID RHODES!

David Rhodes features in the secret history of eighties music. He was spotted by Peter Gabriel playing with the group Random Hold and conscripted to play on Gabriel 3 and he's played on every Gabriel album and tour since*. But between Gabriel duties, Rhodes played with Talk Talk, Japan, and Blancmange. That's some CV.

So my day turned on a sixpence and was made by seeing David Rhodes play just three yards away from me. And Neil Arthur, the Blancmange front man, was great, too. Last year's album, 'Unfurnished Rooms', was my album of the year and the set list tonight was great.

I think I mentioned recently that I was planning to give up going to shake hands with my heroes but after the gig I couldn't resist going to speak to Rhodes as he packed away his kit. I'm not shy about admitting that I thanked him for all the joy he's brought me over the years. What a fantastic end to the day.

*not counting the lame orchestral stuff

****
-13.1 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Descent Of Man'.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.