Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A room with a view

The good thing about going to see Luke in hospital every day is that the 30 minute train ride to Davos must be one of the most beautiful train journeys ever! The trains, as expected, are on time, clean and so comfortable, with huge windows so one can see the snowy landscape scenes passing before one’s eyes as if one is looking at a beautiful travel documentary on a large screen. My ski pass includes all bus journeys and train journeys in this area, so I can do this journey many times a day at no further cost. All in all it's a very pleasant experience.

Although the surgeon did not seem keen to discharge Luke on Thursday, the nurses and the physiotherapist said it was fine as he is doing so well. I have decided that we will get a taxi from Klosters to Zurich rather than use the train, and although it is staggeringly expensive I don't think I have much choice in the circumstances. I think it will be too much for Luke to get the train to the airport as it will mean 4 train changes from the hospital, and hobbling on and off trains on crutches is not ideal. I have also arranged for  wheelchair assistance at the airport so at least he does not have to stand in queues. 


The surgeon checked on Luke again tonight, after I had left, and he was so pleased with Luke's range of movement that he now has said he is happy to discharge him tomorrow.

After yesterdays momentary blue skies, it snowed again last night and early this morning. However, for most of the day we had bright blue skies as can be seen here. This is the view from Luke's hospital windows, what a view! I have added an extra of Luke on the terrace at the hospital, as I encouraged him to walk a bit today (with the approval of the nurses). You can see that the blue sky and already faded by then and it was flat white skies once again, as much more snow is forecast for tomorrow.

I am looking forward to getting home again. Gavin says Murdoch is missing me and either lies next to my study desk  or in his bed with my slippers! He always seems to mope around the house when I am not there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.