Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Well?

I had great plans today...in my head, I was going to be so effecient, so organized, so "super woman" that I'd have several hours to spend in the hide, capturing something spectacular.  Well, woman plans and God laughs.  By 3 PM I was still madly trying to get laundry done, had clothes for the trip strewn all over our bedroom and sitting room, still hadn't tended to the meal worm "farm" in the basement, never mind getting any luggage out.  Epic miscalcultation on my part.

So, a mad dash outside in poor light and light rain to get whatever I could manage.  Happily, the chickadees can almost always be counted on to put in an appearance.  

Although no packing has yet taken place, we'll be heading to the airport by 10:30-ish tomorrow.  Overnight in Fort Lauderdale and then board our ship Sunday afternoon.  I guess as long as we have passports and underwear, we should be okay.

In othe news, I spotted a House Sparrow going into one of my nest boxes yesterday, so I set up my Van Ert humane trap.  I checked it before dark - nothing.  So I checked in this morning...and found one very freaked out Downy Woodpecker who had apparently decided to roost overnight in the box.  Set her loose and reset the trap.  Ran some errands, came back, saw that the trap had be tripped, peeked in side...and found a male bluebird.  ARGH.  Once again, opened the box and set the bluebird free.  Then toop the trap out.  I've got seven boxes up so hopefully the bluebirds will choose one of them, along with the chickadees and house wrens (when they arrive next month).  I'll watch for house sparrows and remove nests if I find them.  You may be wondering why I am going to all this trouble...house sparrows (which are not native to the Americas) are known to kill both adult and baby birds of other species in nest boxes.  More than one bluebird landlord has checked a box only to find a female and all babies savagely pecked to death.  The only way to avoid this is to discourage the house sparrows from nesting.  Because they are non-native, it is legal to kill them - which I won't do.  Instead, I have this handy trap that snaps over the opening, trapping the bird inside the box where he can then be safely relocated.  No harm done.  

Okay, enough words.  I need to start dinner - chili in the pressure cooker.  Then, I really need to get suitcases out of the basement...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.