Day Off

It has been a proper day off for me today, as so many people go back to work after the Easter weekend. Nice to get a better weather day.

I began my day with last night's washing up, then an hour of ironing. I drove Mollie in to Cromer to meet up with friends and took in two bags of bits to the charity shop. Had a browse around some of the charity shops but didn't buy anything.

After lunch I did a bit more painting. It is not great and I won't be displaying it (or blipping It!) But it is relaxing and fun, and I'll do more tomorrow. I had the idea (in the night) of using my music stand to position my paper on to make it easier to paint. It helped. I noticed, from the conservatory where I was painting, that the horses are back in the field behind the chickens, so I went down for a photo. We also have some blue tits thinking about making the bird box this summer's abode. They have had several viewings, so I'm hopeful.

At about 3.30 I got my bike out, pumped up the tyres and with my rake in my basket (Yes it was impossibly unsteady & probably not wise) and Bracken on a lead, I cycled with him running beside me, to the allotment. There, he spent 2 hours sniffing about, while I dug a bit, raked a bit, and cleared some of the old weeds to reveal the raspberry canes that are popping up randomly. It tried to rain, but i kept going. My back was aching so we headed back. Bracken was quite good, although caught me off guard a couple of times by stopping to sniff and jolting me backwards. I left the rake at the allotment so it was a little safer on the way home.

Went to pick up Mollie, who has had a lovely day on the beach with friends. Typical after such rubbish weather over the BH weekend. Then we cooked a fry up for tea together. Mollie made hash browns which was a first. They were tasty but probably not very good for us.

Now we are watching the GBBO celebrity which we have been loving. Then I'm off for a bath. Last day off tomorrow then a two day working week. I could get used to this....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.