Relaxed day

Not some people's idea of relaxed, but no long drive to work and a day at home to do whatever I liked.

I was up at 8.30 and spent 2 hours sorting and filing hundreds of pieces of paper (bank statements, bills etc) it was satisfying and tidied several piles into one neat folder. It has been a lovely day here, and I did the sorting in the conservatory which was warm and sunny. Mollie surfaced at about 11 then disappeared again. I woke Henry at 12. He is supposed to be revising for his GCSEs. He did some this afternoon.

After lunch I decided to tackle another project. I bought this fabric in the charity shop for £2. I haven't been able to find a pattern that I liked, so had a go at cutting something out free hand. At the moment it is a large shapeless pink top. I will need to work on it. It isn't the end of the world if it doesn't work out.

At 2pm a man arrived to erect a new aerial. As some know we get a poor picture on our tv, at random times. Mr Postle from 'Postles' (pronounced Postals in case like me you assumed it was Possles like we did!) in Cromer, expertly replaced our failing aerial. He said it was the original one, that came with the house, and probably 35 to 40 years old. The wire cover had long since gone and one of the wires had become detached. We got a new aerial and he set it towards the best transmitter - which is the other side of Norwich. The picture, so far, is great! £100 well spent. So it's just the shower to replace now. (We are having to bath instead)

At 3.30 Mollie and I went down to the allotment. Mollie did a great job of raking, and I dug a bit more of the bed I started yesterday. I tried to make it square, but in the end gave up and just planted my shallots. The soil is sticky and big clods won't break up, but I am taking the chance. It's the best I can do this year. I have room now for a row or of spinach, so that's the weekend job.

At home I cooked an egg curry then drove Mollie over to Cromer to see Josh. Not much on TV so another bath and bed to read. I am really enjoying the Dan Brown book. How does someone invent such evil characters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.