One month down the road

Coastal erosion:
the road's white line beached itself
along Slapton Line


It's just one month to the date since the stormy sea stole half the road at Slapton Line. If you look at the photo carefully, you can see the white line still doing its best in its new position on Slapton Sands AND my long, evening shadow thrown far towards the sea.

It's the first time I've walked along the road's remains since the damage occurred and I blipped it from a distance. In my Extras you can see Mr and Mrs B (nee PP) who drove us down there this evening for a short walk in a sharp easterly wind. (Mrs B lent Mr B her hat!) The other Extra shows a lonely, hopeless cat's eye!

It was the end of a long day of hospital appointments running over an hour late and uncomfortable eye tests and probings, culminating in my being diagnosed with glaucoma. I have come home with the first prescription of daily eye drops (for the rest of my natural), and the promise of laser treatment in a few weeks' time to slow down the condition's progress. (Couldn't believe how far damaged one eye is already, since I've had annual eye tests for the past 45 years!)

Not news I was happy to hear. But anything that will prevent blindness ... my biggest fear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.