The First Winter Tree

Thanks for all your good advice following yesterday's rather weary blip. For the most part, I've heeded it. You're all so very kind and thoughtful. I knew I needed to get out and blow a few cobwebs away this weekend so I had arranged a lift to Kettlewell to do the Great Whernside Fell Race this morning, a particular favourite event of mine. Left to my own devices I might have slept in, so it was good to have made a commitment.

It was a beautifully clear but very cold morning and on arrival at Kettlewell we heard that there had been a little snow overnight. It had cleared from the valley but there was still a smattering in places at the summit trig, and it was quite icy near the top. I went skidding on my bum for a few yards at one point. It was good to meet up with lots of old friends, but I didn't really have my racing head on today. It was more about enjoying the craic than competing. I was up and down in 45 mins, a lot slower than normal, but it still felt good to just be able to pitch up and do that on next to no proper training.

I took a few pictures during the race, but I don't think I had my photography head on either today. In the end, I've chosen this as the first winter tree of the new season. In Ilkley, most trees are still holding on to their leaves but these, up the fell out of Kettlewell, were distinctly naked. Since getting back I've felt kind of spacey and I've gone with that feeling, not fighting it, not trying to achieve anything for once. I'm overtired and I just need to let the batteries recharge. I can be sensible on occasion - although not sensible enough to have declined to race this morning. I hope I never become that sensible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.