Oh! I Do Like to be Beside the Seaside....

I treat the sea with more respect than most; I find it cruel and dangerous.
If I swim in it, I make sure I can touch the bottom at all times. If I have to travel on it, I am reluctant to use transport anything smaller than a ferry, and I know absolutely nothing about boats or yachts.

Nevertheless I love being beside the sea, watching it’s rhythms, the crashing of waves on rocks or the frilly wavelets dancing on the sand.
I find boats themselves intriguing. In Orkney I can sit for hours watching fishing boats and yachts sailing in and out of Hamnavoe. As for the ferry plying it’s trade betwixt Stromness and Scrabster, I have to get up in the morning early enough to see it leave its berth at 6:30 for the crossing to the Mainland and make sure it arrives back safely at 20:30 at night although I am sane enough not to bother logging its coming and goings during the day.

Over the last few years I have collected little wooden fishing boats from places His Lordship and I have visited and have made something of a harbour diorama on the bathroom window sill. Today I added some housing and seagulls.
Please don’t mention clutter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.