One for the album.

I’ve been sorting through some more of my old family photographs. I’ve recently been in touch with my dad’s cousin (my second cousin?) who lives in Adelaide. He has done years of genealogical research dating back many generations. I’m not sure how he can share this with me but he is willing to do it if he can. He was helped a few years ago by my late aunt who gave me this photograph along with a few others of similar vintage. This is James Martin, my great, great grandfather and son-in-law of Christina and Samuel. I have no idea if he was a country laird, a poacher or a land factor but I imagine none of the above and that this was the costume he chose for the studio portrait. Would the dog have been his, the photographer’s or even real? The photographer’s studio was in Glasgow but James himself came from near Dunscore in Dumfriesshire. It’s all fascinating and curious.

A lazy blip from me today. We should have been at the joyous wedding of the daughter of friends but a 24 hour (I hope) bug put paid to that. No more detail necessary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.