The beginning

We've decided to delay Dad's funeral to late next week to accommodate family who are overseas. Dad's wishes are that we don't rush things and he'd want my brother in law there.

So today I went to work, a new beginning of the .mundane with no Dad to text, phone, email, or skype.

After months of calling Dad nearly every day, I found it hard to come home and not do that. Over Easter we came up with a plan where I'd let the phone ring twice and hang up. He'd know it was me and I'd call back 5 minutes later. That gave him time to shuffle to the phone with his walker and back to his chair.

I guess I'll have a wee cry around 5pm for as long as it takes.

Work was fine. There is no pressure on me and the work I have is achievable. It's one day at a time

Today's gratitude: For the hugs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.