My Local Playground

I had an early start today. Before I pick Benedict up I dropped off boxes at the recycling depot that aren't so useful for other people to use. Then I snuck in a visit to Bunnings (hardware store), and then it was the cattery.

They'd prepared him well with rescue remedy in his water and feliway spray (a synthetic pheromone) in his cage and bedding. He was practically stoned ;-)

He'd toileted this morning and that boded well for his 25 - 30 minute drive to his new home. It wasn't without incident. At one point he poked his front paw through the grill on his carrier. I thought he wanted me to hold it (he did) but actually what he wanted to do was number 2's.

Which he did. In the carrier. While I was driving.

I'm grateful they lined the bottom of his carrier with a puppy spill disposable thing. Let's just say it could have been a whole lot worse. Somehow he managed to squeeze out a bit more, and remarkably I managed to sort him out parked on the side of the road without too much drama. To his credit he somehow didn't stand in it.

I figured once we were home I'd keep him contained in my room for a while possibly the day. That lasted around 20 minutes before he was demanding to see this strange place I'd taken him to.

Other than asking where the stairs are and being understandably restless, he's doing remarkably well. Tomorrow and Tuesday I'll have to contain him in my room while tradesmen come and go. Hopefully he'll continue to progress and it will be clear when he's ready to go outside.

I was blessed with more extended family visitors today. I have a large area of green space and park across the road from me. We had a picnic there and the kids played. I'm excited because the park has a small climbing wall and lots of boulders that form a snaking trail. They'll be good for mountain moves :-)

Here the kids are spinning on this thing. It was hard to get them all looking and their faces clear of the ropes. I liked this line up the best, and I love Lachies poking out tongue. I'm looking forward to their next visit and by then Benedict can escape outside instead of into my wardrobe.

After coffees and hot chocolates at my place they toodled off and I continued with unpacking. There are now no boxes in the kitchen, dining, lounge area. The dining room table is a bomb site, and the kitchen bench is too cluttered for my liking but I'm getting there. I'll deal with the large suitcase of artwork before the kitchen island arrives.

The study and the garage are the worst areas. Hopefully tomorrow I can start to sort it and work out where I'll get my little handy man to put things on Tuesday. 

With that little catch up of the last 3 days I really should head to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.