Rainbow Roses

When I was hurrying to catch the train to Metheringham this morning, these roses caught my eye whilst passing the Sincil Street florist, and I had to stop and grab a quick shot of them.

I'm not really sure what I think...They do look lovely, but I don't think you can improve on nature, can you? These are real roses, not artificial, but their colour is changed by somehow splitting the stem and dipping each part in different coloured water, and as the water is drawn up it makes a multi-coloured flower. They were priced at £3 each, and of course the colours will fade once they have been in plain water for a while.

I can remember my ex husband, who dabbled in flower arranging, turning some white roses blue by putting blue food colouring in the water.And I think supermarket flowers have their colours similarly enhanced.

I went over to Sleaford with my folks to help with their shopping. There wasn't time for much else once we'd got back, got them fed and I'd washed up.

I'm home now. I could do with more FitBit steps but I feel really tired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.