Back Roads....

....of South Carolina. Makes you feel like you've gone back in time.
I really loved this old truck as viewed through the massive old oak trees, as well as the fence that flanked a drive lined with a whole avenue of ancient oaks!
This morning we packed up and Joyce left for Florida as Mary & I headed back to Mary's house where I'll spend the night and then fly home in the morning. On the way, we headed for Donnally  Wild Life Management Area, only it was closed until 11:00 for "a private Turkey Hunt". Since we had to wait an hour, we headed instead for Bear Island Wild Life area, stopping at a really pretty spot before we got there to take a few pictures. We started talking to a lady who was there fishing, and her husband told us there was an alligator "just up past the tree" along the road. So off we went to find it, and just as we got there it slid into the water. There wasn't just one--there were 3, one of which was pretty small--as well as a green heron who was slated to be dinner for the alligator who'd slid into the water. Drove through the Bear Island area where we met a man who was fishing for blue crabs. Mary asked if he was catching any (he was) & then asked if we could take pictures of them because (pointing at me) "she's from Wisconsin and hasn't seen any blue crabs". So he dutifully walked to the back of his car and opened the cooler, where Mary & I took pictures of his blue crabs! People are really so nice! Then we went back to Donnally where we saw heron, stilts, and assorted birds that I can't identify, along with butterflies, a turtle, and several more gators! (I'm getting good at spotting them!) 
Tom texted that it's cold and rainy at home, with snow coming tonight, so I'm thinking it would be good for my mental health not to head home until spring arrives.....although then Mary would have to put up with me for at least a month! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.