A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Leeds

A lovely sunny morning spent mainly at the community singing group in Bingley. An enjoyable start to Monday (thank you Pauline for the lift)

Chris and I then headed for the train to Leeds. I had something to collect from John Lewis and Chris wanted to look at Dr Martens.

We headed first to the Trinity Centre and the Trinity kitchen to see what was on offer. Outside the Park Row entrance were some legs (art work) that definitely weren't there last time I visited. It was quite cloudy after the bright morning but we headed inside and found some very tasty Raclette for lunch. I had the classic, potatoes and toasted Swiss cheese with pickles; Chris had his with an Alpine hot dog which looked huge!

The next stall was selling Chimney cake. I just had to buy some to take home. They are from Hungary and reminded me of our trip to Budapest where they were sold in the street. They were selling them filled with ice cream or Nutella but I asked for plain just as we had them in Budapest.

Chris got his docs and I got my parcel without spending anything else in John Lewis.
Returning to the station we passed this mural opposite the Corn Exchange. It may have been there a long time but I hadn't noticed it before. I think it probably depicts the history of Leeds. At the bottom you can see the sheaves of corn and I think the white criss cross roof is the Trinity Centre but someone may be able to put me right. I think it looks good and you can see the sun and blue sky had returned too so this is today's blip.

(Mambo tells me it's been there since 1990 and is called Cornucopia. The ceiling is the Corn Exchange which makes more sense)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.