The Triple Turtle

I spotted this triple turtle with wobbly legs on a stall at Tai O, on my trip to Hong Kong a year ago.

The turtle is revered in China as one of the Four Fabulous Animals, and represents endurance, strength and longevity. It is associated with the formation of the universe and has significance in feng shui. Place it near the back door or a pond at home for good fortune and many blessings. Elsewhere I've read that you should place it on the north side of the house.

Three turtles stacked on one another represent a mother and her babies. In Daoist art, the turtle stands for the triad of earth-humankind-heaven. The bonsai is simply there to fill a space.

No falling over today. Thoroughly enjoyed singing some songs by Purcell with Judy this morning. Then a quick trip to say Hello To William and Kat. William starts grizzling when he sees me and then assumes an expression of, "I'm sure I've seen you somewhere before." We'll get there.

Chris Dale will be talking at camera club tonight on his work 'making mountains out of molehills.' Hope he imparts some technique.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.