A weekly ritual

Dear Diary,

I was greeted for the first time this year by some lovely rainbows in the hall outside my bedroom.  For just a few weeks each spring the morning sun glints of the bathroom mirror and casts lovely rainbows all over the stairs.  We haven't seen a sunny morning in five days!  I hope it is a good omen as I dropped the car off at my mechanic's to see why the dreaded "service engine soon" light is on.  Hope it isn't anything too costly.

My weekly ritual is to turn this silk embroidery I got in China in 2002 when I visited Suzhou.  It is the center of this type of two-sided embroidery.  I watched in stunned amazement as the women worked both sides of the silk at the same time, sometimes creating the same image on both sides and sometimes, even more amazing, a totally different image on the back.  I turn the panel each week so it gets equal exposure to light although it is out of direct sunlight of course.

If you want to learn more about this art, here is a link...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.