Wild Water and Porridge Swim

It was a chilly start to the day, but an invigorating one. I raced down to Salford Quays for 8am and hoped the promised sunshine would emerge....sadly, it has taken until this afternoon for it to arrive. But, it was dry, it wasn't freezing and there were about twenty lovely people all ready to jump into the water....well I say 'jump', we actually walked in. I think the shock of the cold water if I had jumped in would have killed me! It was about eight degrees which is a good three degrees more than the last time. 

Rude Health is a London based company, but they were there sponsoring the event and they provided hot drinks, and healthy snacks. They took some pics of us and interviewed us for their promotional work and then it was time to get in. The first minute is the worst, the pain in your hands and feet is excruciating, but then the numbness sets in and your body adjusts. We were in for about half an hour at the most then it was a quick change and we were given hot porridge and drinks. 

I didn't have to rush off to work this time so it was nice to sit and chat with the others as we ate our porridge. We were positively buzzing and felt ready for anything after the swim. 

Just before I'd set off for the Quays I had sent a text to Sara Cox on Radio 2 and as I was driving, hands free of course, a call came through from the station saying they liked my text and would I be prepared to go on the radio live, although there was no guarantee I would be chosen. I said I would and I waited to hear back, sadly, they didn't choose me, but they did read out my text. I didn't hear it being read out but a friend sent me a message on facebook asking if it was me who was 'squeezing into my wetsuit ready for a swim' as she'd heard it on the radio lol. 

Anyway, me hands and feet are no longer glowing purple, as they are in the photo, the sun has come out and I think I might just go out for a little walk as I'm still riding high......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.