Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Autumn fruits still life

I had been and helped myself to some persimmons and feijoas at the high school gardens. It's holidays and I could see they were falling on the ground. They are experimental trees with new varieties planted by the research station people some years ago. A still life seemed to be the way to show the walnuts and apples with the others. Not as easy as it looks. I thought it really needed some autumn leaves but couldn't be bothered going out in the street to get them.
The wooden bowl is for nuts and the brass nutcracker still with it. It was a wedding present for my fathers first marriage in 1922 so rather special.
This afternoon we had a visit from one of Trevor's many nieces from Invercargill, with husband and 14 year old son.Trev had baked muffins especially for them. We haven't seen them for many years but it was just like we had seen them yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.