Hill Repping Hobblers

What a glorious day! We walked in to Bingley in the morning to do a few things and decided to have lunch in the Loft before heading home to an afternoon of gardening, Tony did some planting in the allotment and I mowed the grass for the first time this year, and caught up with a couple of neighbours who had been brought out by the sunshine.

The neighbours' children were impatient for me to finish so that they could resume the water fight which began yesterday evening.  The girls have created their own rules which include shouting 'Refill!' when the super soakers run out.  This means no one can soak them whilst they are at the hose!  At one point I was caught in the crossfire and there were sharp intakes of breath behind me before they realised I wasn't cross.  Good to see them having so much fun.

An hour of relaxation and then it was time to meet the Hobblers down in the village to jog out to the far end of Bingley St Ives for our introductory hill rep session, run by Tony.  I think they all enjoyed themselves.  My blip is of the attack on the hill!  Those who know this area will recognise Bingley in the valley.  We were running through the area of the estate which has been felled, hence the Armageddon look!  Notices have appeared here which inform locals that replanting will begin with broadleaved trees in winter and folks can offer their help.  I think we will do so, and maybe it is something our orienteering club could be involved in too as we use the estate for events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.