Allotment again!

I've really packed it in today. A full day at work - I was in by 8 and got lots done. At last I feel happier about it again. It hasn't been without headaches, but not too bad. I went to Wilco at lunchtime and bought a variety of garden nets, all at bargain prices. Everything will need to be covered so I will have to build frames, well obviously the carpenter in the house will do that, but I'm sure it won't be too difficult.

I left at 4.25 and went straight to Cromer for Morrisons. The shopping took me an hour. Henry had been on the beach straight from school with his friends. As they finish at 2.35 on a Friday they had a good 4 hours enjoying the sun and sea air. He met me in the car park and back home Jon had done dinner. Jon went off to scouts and Henry and I caught the last of the light down at the allotment. Henry did the hard work digging more soil up to finish filling my raised bed. Then we put the strawberries in water to soak, as everything has baked hard this week. If this weather continues, then our digging is going to get tougher. We had to take a photo together, as on this day 3 years ago, when we were one week into our new job and school, my Facebook profile reminded me with some lovely photos of us down by the sea in Cromer. The difference between then and now is that Henry now towers above me. He is still just as helpful and accommodating though. I'm very lucky.

We walked home in the dark and chatted about the forthcoming GCSEs. Only a month until they start.

I'm now watching gardeners world from earlier and thinking about the weekend jobs. I think I'll be up early to fit everything in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.