Hoddesdon

I was up at 8 and like everywhere in the country greeted by beautiful weather. Mum drove up the town and I filled he car with petrol, then we eventually parked and went to the town centre to do a few more jobs. The town centre and shops bear hardly any resemblance to the Hoddesdon I grew up in. I took this photo of the few bits that haven't changed, namely the clock tower, Tower Heights and the pubs on the left - although I'm not sure they are still pubs as I didn't go down to see. I can't really remember what it was like exactly, but in the loft at home I've got photos I took of all the shops one Christmas - I think about 1987 - when the town was empty. It was the Hoddesdon of Tracks, Bubbles, Pickwick Village. Of Bejam, the toy shop and Clark's in Fawkon Walk, and Haywards, Meadows and Heather's in the High Street, plus the big Co-op, International, Tesco Home and Wear, and Pounds.

After lunch we went to see Dad. In the afternoon he seemed quite well. I bought him a newspaper and we chatted a bit. Then mum and I walked into Harlow. Well. And I thought Hoddesdon had changed!! We walked a bit, then had a burger in McDonald's before walking back to the hospital. We spent another hour and a half, but perhaps wore dad out. He wasn't feeling so good when we left. Being forced to drink water to keep up him blood pressure and hydration is the challenge and it doesn't come naturally.

We got home about 8.45 and now some tv, a cup of tea and then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.