Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A photography day in London

I was on the 7.30am train to London this morning and I only got back home some time after 10pm, so it has been a very long day - but a brilliant day of photography. 

There were six of us in the group with Lee Frost - one of them was someone who was also with me on the Venice trip. What a beautiful day! If anything it was too hot and we could have had more clouds in the sky for the photos, but it was a great day for walking around the city with blue skies and sunshine all day. 

In good weather everyone seems to spill outdoors and everywhere was full of people enjoying the good weather, eating lunch outdoors, enjoying drinks after work, and children playing in the fountains of More Place 

London offers so much as a photographic destination - the architecture is incredible, especially with all the new buildings of glass and steel which make good photos. We started in the area around St Paul’s and wandered up and down the river ending up beyond St Katherine Docks at the end of the day to shoot the sunset and dusk. I walked about 17km today and while that is not too bad, my heavy camera bag on my back was killing me by the end of the day. Everyone started flagging around about 6pm but we still had a few more hours of shooting to go. If I ever thought about buying a smaller, lighter camera today was the day... my shoulders and back will be feeling very sore tomorrow. 

I have uploaded the photos and quickly chose one to blip, it probably is not my best one but I am very tired and want to get to bed. I have added some extras too - a plane flying over London, a classic Tower Bridge photo, a double city hall, and the 'batman' building. I took nearly 400 photos today so these have been very quickly chosen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.