A time for everything

By turnx3

Butterflies of Madagascar

Friday
A beautiful day today after a chilly start, so I decided it was time for an outing. The annual butterfly show is on at the Krohn Conservatory in Eden Park downtown, so after breakfast I headed downtown. The subject this year is Butterflies of Madagascar. I got there soon after they opened, but still had to wait to get in - I think they limit the numbers of people in at one time. As you can imagine it was very popular with Mums/grandmas and young children. Besides the butterflies, the flowers and foliage are also beautiful. I struggled to get nice crisp shots, as the butterflies were flitting about too much, but I got a number of fair shots, so I chose to do a collage. Another feature of the event were “yarn bombed” trees and butterflies outside and a cow inside - very colourful! Just down the road from the Conservatory are a number of different coloured magnolia trees, providing me with a number of more photographs! The blossom of one of them wasn’t looking it’s best, I think maybe it’s been damaged by the several frosts we’ve had this week, but the yellow and the white ones shown in my collage were looking beautiful! I had originally had thoughts of stopping at the gym on the way back home, but I ended up spending longer down there than I’d thought, so gave up on that idea and came home for a latish lunch. Roger was home reasonably early, and the days are getting longer, so we went for a bike ride instead - my first ride of the season! Then we went out to eat some Thai food -tried a new place this evening - it was good, but we think we still prefer our usual one in Hyde Park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.