A Cultural Selfie

This is a selfie taken in the Dundas Street Gallery daughter#1 looks after on a Saturday.
By sheer coincidence during the 40s and 50s it was home to my paternal grandfather’s fruit and vegetable shop. Instead of apples, oranges and bananas, paintings now line the walls - an interesting change of usage.

We managed a relaxed coffee without many interruptions from passing clientele; I suspect the sunshine outside was more appealing than looking at antique paintings.

I found it a nicer day today, without the cooling breeze of yesterday. I was out and about just after 7am this morning and had the world more or less to myself. Even the joggers hadn’t had time to tie their shoe laces, although I caught the resident rabbits nibbling the grass and washing their bunny faces in the dew.

The Meadows are alive now with humanity and the smoke of barbecues hangs in the air in pockets. It is a certainty that before the day is out there will be a fire engine being summoned to a fire in one of the waste bins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.