Bricks and Mortar

When I first crossed the border into England on holiday aged about 10, I really did feel as though I was in another country. I think it was because so many of the houses seemed to be made of brick which at that time looked so different from the stone houses in Edinburgh.

Now we too have brick houses and this blip is of the wall of one building in Fountainbridge which I find very attractive.

We had a mini family gathering this afternoon as 3 offspring, 1 partner and 2 grandchildren sought shelter from the icy outside temperature of 11° to drink tea and eat cake in the Dower House.

Now that they have all left, I am going to watch the highlights on television of the London Marathon, apparently the hottest one on record with temperatures in the 20s. How can it be right that 400miles produces such a variation in temperature? There are no sitters on the Meadows this evening. It’s back on with the anoraks and scarves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.