Concertinaed Spring

I couldn't believe how quickly the blackthorn flowers are fading and its leaves unfurling. Got me singing It's Over. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iABFZGzEjY

I soon cheered up when I went for a walk down the field. Vincent (the one eared muntjac) and a doe were in number thirteen disused glasshouse. Butterflies were on the wing, I got a brimstone and a speckled wood. As I shot insects in Butterfly Alley a thrush and linnets sang and Jack heron flew over. A hen pheasant trotted into the hedge. I was astounded to find a minute, dark bush-cricket nymph and watched it munch a greater stitchwort petal and nibble on the pollen. The stitchwort has come into flower in the last day or two, later than usual. I certainly wasn't expecting saltatorians today. I saw a female tawny mining bee disappear down her mine and captured a male on the blackthorn, the petals of which were falling like snow.

Nature has a way of catching up and evening things up. The RHS is correct, blink and you'll miss spring this year.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.