M923

10.0C with some rain in the morning then clearing to long sunny spells.
WSW/W wind to 24 mph with gusts to 32 mph.

This week I have spent some time in the mornings back on the trail of some Dewars in my family tree. I have been trying to make a connection between my Dewars and the family of the John Dewar b 1805 who founded the Dewar's Whisky distilling company (now part of the Bacardi group). Yesterday I found an outline family tree document online by a researcher who showed the very link I had been looking for, but I couldn't find the confirmation on Scotland's People despite several searches. I managed to find an email address for the person who had posted the document and I sent off an email asking for their research source, not expecting a reply because the document was from 2012 and sometimes researchers are no longer connected to places they post. Much to my surprise and delight I have had an email conversation with the researcher today and he and his wife (she has the Dewar name in her family tree) have provided me with a copy of the original document for the birth entry we were discussing. For some reason the Scotland's People database isn't returning the document in searches despite having been told about the error. I have my link to the whisky Dewars. I also have a couple of other family history contacts who will be happy to see the document to add to their Dewar research.

Fergus and I went for our walk after lunch. We went round to the harbour, went along by the park and Kilkerran road to Glenramskill House. There were only spots of rain, hooray !

At the NATO refuelling jetty M923 Narcis, a Tripartite-class minehunter of the Belgian Naval Component.

We came back the same way then along the street side of the park and came home through town passing the town hall and the bookshop (open).

On the Clip while walking:
3 episodes of BBC radio 4's Word of Mouth podcast, with the excellent Michael Rosen in the chair.
Andrew Graham Dixon On The Naming Of Art Movements -  excellent !
Best Wishes Kind Regards Or None Of The Above
Eat My Words Describing Flavour And Taste

Afternoon music ... Paloma Faith, The Architect. Lana Del Rey, Ultraviolence.

DMC-LX7 f/3.5 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.