The Dales

I'm very glad to be in our little cottage in the Yorksire Dales, somewhere I've never spent any time before. With a week here, I know we won't be able to touch the sides but we can make a start.

It's been an awful journey. It was pouring with rain when we got up and that's not the best conditions for getting everything together and packing the van. It's not great for travelling either. It's been raining all the way and the traffic has been extremely heavy meaning that it's been very slow going all the way. We should have arrived here by about 5.30 allowing for stops but it was 7.30 before we arrived. The weather improved in the last 20 miles and I could resist stopping for a picture of one of those classic stone barns with sheep in the field. I think it may have been at Wensley or thereabouts. 

We were met by Diane, our landlady for this week, who we knew from her previous life in the home counties before she moved here and converted these old buildings into lovely holiday cottages.

I must say I'm a little knackered by the drive but very enthused by what I've seen already since we got off the motorway and came along part of the route of The Tour de Yorkshire. Stage 3 comes this way on Saturday week but we'll have gone the day before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.