East Anglian Game and Country Fair

We all slept well in the caravan last night, and a leisurely breakfast. We walked over to the country fair at about 9.15. It was mizzly rain first thing and people were turning up in their cars. It was nice not to be in the queue of cars. Wandered up and down the stall holders tents, buying wax jackets for Henry and I. The rain coats we had woukd never have lasted the morning, let alone all weekend. There are always good deals and we did well. I can now throw out my old one (it was one of Jon's old ones, too big and the zip is broken). Once the wallets were open there was no stopping us. Manda will be pleased to know I bought a bottle of artisan vodka - passion fruit. I had a taste first and it was like 1970s medicine. It was a tiny bottle - two pub measures - £5. We spent £9 on two pies - I think it means we like our food more than our drink!! I also bought a beautiful wool blanket for £20. You can never have too many blankets - especially when camping in this country!

At 11 we went back to the caravan for our coffee. Bracken wasn't used to being around so many other dogs and people, so we left him and went back to the fair at about 12. We saw dancing sheep, dancing diggers and a horsey competition between teams from local counties, doing various relay races. All fun to watch - but the rain had stepped up a gear. It has been pretty cold.

We had the pies for lunch, one was game pie, the other cranberry, chicken and pork, plus some really giant cakes. I'm afraid my diet has had to take a back seat. I'll start again tomorrow.

After lunch the rain had died down. We went back to a stall where I'd seen something I wanted - I can't really describe it, but it is a thing to put my plants on, in three tiers, like a ladder. I sometimes sell spare plants by my front gate. Actually, I haven't got a gate. Where a gate would be if there was going to be one. Anyway, I might use it for that. It was a bargain £15.

We watched some lads in the forestry section, doing climbing competition. One of Jon's (much younger) work colleagues is taking part.

Henry had a go shooting - he is good and scored 67/70. We also watched clay pigeon shooting. It was a bit expensive to take part, but good fun to watch.

Back in the caravan now and trying to warm up. I've got a Morrison's curry for dinner. Having the oven on should warm it up a bit. Then we have the excitement of Pandemic later, last night we played Yahtzee. Thanks to those who have said happy anniversary - it isn't until tomorrow. I expect I'll mention it again in tomorrow's blip, when we have planned another exciting day like today.....romance isn't dead, it's blossoming in a damp caravan in Thetford...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.