THE LAST DAY

The last day of
     the National Poetry Writing month
          has dawned bright and fair
it's still cold and windy
     but at least it's not raining yet
          so today I wanted to write 
               what some might say 
                    is a “proper” poem
you know what I mean - 
     one that rhymes 
          and flows
               and only makes sense
                    to the person who wrote it.
However, that is proving to be
     rather difficult 
          because today we are seeing 
               our hygienist 
                    and try as I might 
NOTHING rhymes with that 
     at least no word that I know 
          in the English language!   
For instance, 
     I couldn’t think 
          of any words that rhyme 
               with teeth 
or poking instruments 
     or even her name 
          which is Megan
or what she says - 
     things like
          "Let's tip this chair back"
               "Rinse your mouth out"
                    "Right, off we go again!" 
Then I thought perhaps
     I could write a haiku
          because that doesn't have to rhyme
               but I’ve done lots of those 
                     in the past month
so in desperation 
     I decided to write a poem 
          that has nothing at all 
               to do with hygienists
or teeth
     or drills
          or safety glasses
or the subject for Mono Monday - 
     which is "Street Scene" 
          so here it is - 
               and it rhymes!

I love my little coffee machine 
It fills me with such passion
Instant now is so “last year”
And completely out of fashion!

© Maureen Iles
30/04/18

P.S.  I felt I should have a chocolate with my coffee, especially as the BBF date is today, but resisted - didn't think my hygienist would approve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.