BLIP CHALLENGE - MINIMALISM

I truly believe that if anyone had seen me taking this photograph, they would have said, without doubt, that I was “Bananas”!!

On the Blipfoto Blog for this challenge, it quoted the following:

“The goal of minimalist photography is to convey a concept, provoke an emotional response, or provide a unique visual experience. Compositional elements must be kept to a minimum, and the ones that are left should be essential for conveying the overall idea, or symbolism, of the photo.”

I’m not sure I understood this, as I didn’t really have an idea, but when I went into the conservatory first thing this morning as I was going to peg some washing out on the line, I saw the cushions for our new garden chairs and thought there were some strong lines that might make a good minimalist shot.

I then decided it looked a bit plain, so looked around for something that might complement the colours and found the banana but when I was looking at it on-screen, it looked a bit “flat” so went out into the conservatory, half peeled the banana and then had a bite and then another and another and before long, I’d eaten the lot.   I’ve probably ruined it for everyone now, but at least I have had a go at something I’m not too sure about, I've kept the compositional elements to a minimum, and it was fun!

Perhaps someone can tell me whether this conveys a concept, provokes an emotional response or provides a unique visual experience - in any event, I am going to sit in one of our new chairs in the garden and ponder what I might do for my second minimalist shot as we are allowed two shots in this challenge.

If I were to leave this where it is, then no doubt it would provoke an emotional response from Mr. HCB about leaving rubbish around and not clearing it up, so better go and put the banana skin into the compost bin.

“Minimalism is the pursuit
     of the essence of things,
          not the appearance.”
Claudio Silvestrin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.