DERELICT SUNDAY

We had an amazing service at church today with part of it being sensory i.e. using all our senses - hearing, seeing, touching, smelling and tasting - reminding us that the disciples had a multi-sensory experience of Jesus after His resurrection.  We were encouraged to use all our senses to encounter the living Jesus today.  It’s great to be able to enter into these experiences and it was probably the first time that I had used play-dough in church.  

I thought that Susan, who was leading us in this experience, would manage to get chocolate in somehow (not saying she is a chocoholic, but like me, is pretty close!) and was disappointed she didn’t - I guess bread is more “spiritual” than chocolate though and it was all beautifully done and certainly made us think. 

We were off after church looking for dereliction, but needed to be closer to home, because we have a busy afternoon shifting furniture and taking up carpets, ready for our new chairs and carpet, which is being delivered on Tuesday.  

When I was walking down Victoria Hill yesterday, I noticed this house at the bottom, next to the old College building that is now being turned into apartments and should be ready for occupation by July - just goes to show how much we look but don’t see!  I knew there was one derelict house on the brow of the hill, but had never noticed this one and I wonder if it will be smartened up before the new apartments are occupied.  

When we approached this house from a different angle today, I was surprised to see that there were people living on the first floor of the property - not sure I would like to be living above all this dereliction, but it’s obviously home to someone and of course, it makes a good subject for the Derelict Sunday challenge. 

"The five senses 
     are the ministers 
          of the soul." 
Leonardo Da Vinci 
1452-1519

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.