Rainy day off

I imagine we aren't the only ones to relent and put our heating back on. It was so cold when we got home, we snuggled under our new blanket, but the heating had to go on too.

Today I had the day off, to do the weekend jobs. Bathroom cleaned, 3 loads of washing done, a trip to the charity shop with two bags and finally my 6 monthly check up at the dentist. He said 'perfect' - but with a mouth full of grey fillings, I know they are not!!

I then took Bracken out to the allotment. Something has been in and broken some of the plants and stripped a bit of bark. I spent some time trying to wrap the remaining currants with netting, to dissuade the deer/rabbits/hare from attacking what is there. It emphasises the need to have things covered. I was pleased to see my potatoes and shallots are coming up.

The small row of 4 trees on the right are all blossoming, and the water rig up is working. I added some pegs to pull up the ground sheet at the sides. Hopefully you can't see 'Foxton Rd HQ' written in black pen on it anywhere....

I emptied all the buckets of water into the watering can, and then poured it into the water tank. It must have been about 10 watering cans worth. The tank is huge so I want to catch as much rain as possible. The bucket at the front is the old caravan toilet from when I was a child. It was full today as Henry had spotted the water was running through the hole in the middle of the plastic garden table. So last time we were there, we put it underneath and it filled in no time!

I watched tv in the afternoon. Things I'd recorded - The Great Painting challenge and Gardeners World. I then had a go at painting a pansy. You don't want to see It!!

Henry went straight to a friend's after school, and 6 of them went to see the new Marvel film. I picked him up at 8. Jon has been out to a meeting, but not before he'd eaten. I cooked yesterday's roast chicken.

I've had a nice FaceTime chat with Mollie and a Whatsapp chat with Dan. Hopefully we will all get together for the summer when they have both finished their studies for the year. For Daniel it is his final year. The dissertation has proved a struggle but his deadline was today, and I'm sure he has done his best.

A bit of tv now, then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.