Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A Sweet Wild Note

Day 5 of the Haltwhistle Walking Festival and I went on the Tea Walk. This is a popular event because.....................it ends with tea. This time we did a circular walk from Castle Carrock and the WI ladies provided the tea.

It was a lovely walk although cool and breezy at times. Only 6 miles. We had a good crowd out, including my friend, Joan. We were at medical school together and, along with 4 others, shared a body in the dissection room. Now there is a bonding experience!!

Tonight we had an event in collaboration with Northumberland Libraries. The author, Richard Smyth, came to talk about his book "A Sweet Wild Note - What we hear when the birds sing". I found his talk very interesting and particularly enjoyed the literary references. 

My blip is Richard just as he starts the book signing at the end of the evening. He spoke for about 35 minutes and then we had 25 minutes of questions. The questions came thick and fast. Richard showed his wide knowledge in his answers.

As I drove to Castle Carrock this morning, I realised I had left my 'phone at home. Then I discovered I was without my camera (on the bed) and even my packed lunch (in the kitchen). I have no idea what was happening in my brain this morning, but coordination of activities was not part of it. I survived! At lunchtime I went into the pub in Talkin village and asked what I could buy to eat for £1.10. "Not a lot" came the reply!! (I bought a Snickers bar for 70p.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.