Graffiti boy

Here is some more artwork from the cycle paths of Edinburgh.

My trip to the hospital this morning was quite eventful. First of all I made new friends with another patient who travels in from Pathhead for treatment each day with his wife. Then I talked to another patient who, I discovered yesterday in an email, is also friends with Mette. I have also been making an effort to say 'Good morning' to the other patients in the waiting room over the past few days and this is beginning to pay off with smiles in return. The other interesting part of my treatment today was that a student 'practised' on me. She did well :-)

Back at home again I worked on marketing for an event that we are hosting at work on 11th July. Meanwhile my colleagues were all at a doctoral colloquium that I would normally be attending. Thanks to Twitter I was able to follow the proceedings on campus (hashtag #iDocQ2018, if you are interested). I nearly choked with laughter at lunchtime when the PhD students sent me a video from the lecture hall of LyndseyJ giving her presentation to an audience that included cut-out masks of me held up by the delegates in front of their own faces. What a hoot!

This all cheered me up on a day when I haven't actually been feeling very well. I asked the hospital staff about this this morning, wondering if my symptoms are radiotherapy side-effects. The answer is that they are, but only indirectly. It's not the treatment per se that is making me feel ill. Rather, because I am undergoing the treatment I am run-down, and this makes me more susceptible to other things. The advice, however, is to stay as active as possible while I still feel up to it, so that it what I am doing.

Exercise today: walking (10,443 steps); bike ride to Davidson's Mains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.